Skip to the text
Gold IRA Companies Ranked

Fees, minimums and public records for eight gold IRA companies

2026 IRS limits IRA $7,500, or $8,600 at 50 and over 401(k) $24,500, plus $8,000 at 50 and over ($11,250 at 60 to 63) Required distributions generally from 73 Source: IRS, in our rollover guide

Gold IRA companies, ranked on the record

Eight companies compared on what they publish and what public records show: fees, minimums, custodians, BBB complaints and court cases.

What to know before you buy

  • Gold pays you nothing while you hold it. No interest, no dividends. You only gain if the price goes up.
  • The price can fall for years. Gold hit $850 an ounce in January 1980, fell as low as $251.70 in August 1999, and did not get back above $850 until January 2008, according to Reuters. That is 28 years.
  • It costs more than a regular IRA. Expect a setup fee, an annual custodian fee and an annual storage fee. Most of the companies below charge about $235 to $285 a year on a standard account. See gold IRA fees.
  • The dealer’s markup is often the biggest cost. It is built into the price you pay for the metal. Only one company we checked, American Hartford Gold, publishes its markup ranges: 1% to 19.99% on bullion and up to 59.99% on some collector coins.
  • The salesperson may be paid on commission. American Hartford Gold and Birch Gold Group say so in their own documents.
  • You can’t keep the gold at home. IRS rules require IRA bullion to be held by a bank or an approved trustee. More on this in the FAQ below.

If those points don’t put you off, the comparison below will help you pick a company.

The ranking

Eight gold IRA companies in our order, with IRA minimum, account fees, BBB record and Trustpilot score
No.CompanyIRA minimumSetup feeAdmin a yearStorage a yearBBBBBB complaints, 3 yearsTrustpilotLinks
1 Goldcobest overall for accounts of $25,000 and up $25,000$50$125$110 non-segregated*, $160 segregated*A+, accredited since 2011724.4 (1,795 reviews) Request Goldco's free Gold & Silver KitA representative usually calls after you request it. Affiliate link.
2 Augusta Precious Metalsbest for $50,000 and up $50,000$50$125$110 (type not stated)A+, accredited since 201514.8 (377 reviews) Get Augusta's free Gold IRA guide ($50k minimum)A representative usually calls after you request it. Affiliate link.Compare first: Augusta's free company checklist
Augusta's minimum is $50,000. With less, Goldco ($25,000) and Birch Gold Group ($5,000) are the lower-minimum options on this list.
3 American Hartford Goldbest for markup transparency $10,000Not publishedNot published$110 commingled, $160 segregatedA+, accredited since 20161154.8 (1,954 reviews) Read the review of American Hartford Gold
4 Birch Gold Groupbest for smaller accounts $5,000$50 + $30 wire (Equity Trust example)$125 (Equity Trust example)$110 (Equity Trust example)A+, accredited since 201394.8 (341 reviews) Read the review of Birch Gold Group
5 Noble Gold Investmentssegregated storage only $20,000$80*$125$150 segregated*, segregated onlyA+, accredited since 201734.9 (799 reviews) Read the review of Noble Gold Investments
6 Patriot Gold Groupwatch the fine print on "no fees" Not published$0 (scope unclear)$0 on qualifying IRAs; threshold not publishedNot publishedA+, accredited since 202205.0 (703 reviews) Read the review of Patriot Gold Group
7 Priority Goldpublished fees, but check its claims $10,000$50$125$110 commingled, $160 segregatedA+, not accredited384.8 (367 reviews) Read the review of Priority Gold
8 Lear Capitallong history, with a settlement on record $10,000$50$125$110 commingled, $160 segregatedA+, accredited since 1997334.7 (3,300 reviews) Read the review of Lear Capital

All figures come from each company's own website or documents, its custodian's published fee schedule, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and Trustpilot, checked on October 29, 2026. Account fees are charged by the custodian and depository, not the dealer. "Not published" means we looked and the company does not state it. Fees marked with an asterisk differ between sources; the notes under the table explain.

  • Goldco: its cost page (last modified February 2025) lists $100 non-segregated and $150 segregated storage. Equity Trust, which Goldco's own site names as one of its custodians, now lists $110 and $160, so we show the custodian's current rates. Goldco's cost page and Equity Trust agree on $50 setup and $125 a year. An older Goldco FAQ says "around $80" for admin; we treat that as out of date.
  • Birch Gold: Birch publishes these as a worked example for Equity Trust and Delaware Depository and says they are "not Birch Gold prices or fees". Another custodian will charge differently.
  • Noble Gold: we use its support FAQ (last updated September 2026): $80 setup and $150 segregated storage. Its older Gold IRA page (July 2026) lists $50 setup plus a $30 wire fee, and $160 storage.
  • Patriot Gold: the "no setup fees" line appears in the Texas Depository section of its site, so it may refer to the depository rather than the custodian.
  • Trustpilot and BBB counts: change every week. Treat them as a snapshot from October 29, 2026.

The companies, one by one

1Goldco

Goldco has sold gold and silver IRAs since 2011, according to the BBB, and is based in Calabasas, California. It is the company we rank first, and it is one of the two companies that pay us. Here is the case for it on the facts.

Goldco puts its fee schedule on one page and says the fees are flat, “whether you have $30,000 or $3 million”. With Equity Trust, one of the custodians Goldco uses, that means a $50 setup fee, $125 a year for administration, and $110 a year for non-segregated storage or $160 for segregated storage. That is $285 in the first year and $235 a year after for non-segregated storage, the same as Augusta. (Goldco’s own page still shows Equity Trust’s older storage rates of $100 and $150.) Its $25,000 minimum is half of Augusta’s.

It has held an A+ BBB rating with accreditation since December 2011 and an AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance. Goldco also runs a price-match policy: show it a competitor selling the same coin for less and it will match the price or send a 5-gram silver bar. It offers up to 5% back in free silver on $50,000 to $99,999 of its premium coins and 10% on $100,000 or more. Read the terms, because “premium coins” usually carry a higher markup than plain bullion.

The weaker points: the BBB logged 72 complaints in three years, far more than Augusta’s one. Goldco works with several custodians and doesn’t publish the full list, so ask which one will hold your account, and it publishes no markup figures. Its terms allow shipping up to 45 business days after it receives your funds. It also paid $2 million to settle a class action over marketing text messages; the court gave final approval in March 2026.

Read our full Goldco review · Visit Goldco (affiliate link)

2Augusta Precious Metals

Augusta is based in Beverly Hills. Its own site says it was founded in 2012; the BBB lists a start date of December 31, 2011. Its minimum is the highest here: $50,000, for an IRA or a cash purchase.

What you get for that minimum is the cleanest record in our data. The BBB shows one complaint in three years. Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 377 reviews. Augusta names its custodian, Equity Trust, and its depository, Delaware Depository, and lays out the costs: $50 setup, $125 a year for custody and $110 for storage, or $285 in the first year and $235 after. It says some qualifying accounts can get up to ten years of fees paid, though it does not publish who qualifies.

Augusta says its staff are salaried and do not earn product-specific commissions, though some may get a fixed incentive that doesn’t depend on the product. It does not offer free silver or bonus coins, which we see as a plus: bonus metal is usually paid for through a higher price somewhere else. If you want to cancel, Augusta offers a “24-hour window to cancel if you find a better offer” and says some purchases qualify for a 7-day money-back period.

Its one regulatory mark is minor: in August 2019 it paid a $3,000 penalty under a Minnesota consent order for selling bullion there before registering as a dealer. The order doesn’t allege that anyone was misled.

The downside is plain: if you have less than $50,000, Augusta is not an option.

Augusta’s minimum is $50,000. With less, Goldco ($25,000) and Birch Gold Group ($5,000) are the lower-minimum options on this list.

Read our full Augusta review · Visit Augusta (affiliate link)

3American Hartford Gold

American Hartford Gold, legally The Hartford Gold Group, LLC, is based in Los Angeles and started in 2015. Its IRA minimum is $10,000.

It is the only company we checked that puts numbers on its markup. Its Shipping and Transaction Agreement says the spread is 1.00% to 19.99% on bullion, up to 39.99% on its exclusive and semi-numismatic coins, and up to 59.99% on certain numismatic coins. Those top figures are high, and they are a good reason to buy plain bullion, but at least you can see them. The same document says its sales representatives are paid on commission. Its storage fees are $110 commingled and $160 segregated, and it works with Equity Trust and The Entrust Group.

It does not publish its setup or annual admin fees; its IRA page says only that setup fees “may” apply. Its FAQ says “the storage might be free” depending on account size, without giving a number. The BBB logged 115 complaints in three years, the most of any company here, though it holds an A+ rating. A 2020 federal fraud complaint (Mathys) was sent to private arbitration under the customer’s contract; the result isn’t public. Its about page offers a 7-day cancellation window with a full refund; its transaction agreement applies that guarantee to non-bullion purchases, so ask whether your order is covered.

Read our full American Hartford Gold review

4Birch Gold Group

Birch Gold Group, based in Des Moines, Iowa, has operated since 2011. Its $5,000 minimum is the lowest we found. It sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium.

Birch publishes a worked fee example with Equity Trust and Delaware Depository: $50 setup and a $30 wire fee once, then $125 for the custodian and $110 for storage, $235 a year. It says those are the custodian’s and depository’s fees, not its own, and that it covers the first year’s fees on purchases or transfers over $50,000. It works with Equity Trust and GoldStar Trust and lists five depositories. Its specialists are paid commission. The BBB shows 9 complaints in three years and an A+ rating.

One open issue: a fraud and misrepresentation lawsuit, Linebarger v. Birch Gold Group, was moved to federal court in May 2026 and is pending. A lawsuit is not a finding of wrongdoing, but you should know about it.

Read our full Birch Gold Group review

5Noble Gold Investments

Noble Gold is based in Encino, California, and started in 2016. Its IRA minimum is $20,000. It only offers segregated storage, meaning your coins are kept apart from other customers’ metal, at International Depository Services in Texas, Delaware or Canada.

The problem is that Noble’s own pages disagree on fees. Its newer support FAQ (September 2026) lists $80 setup and $150 segregated storage; its older Gold IRA page lists $50 setup plus a $30 wire fee, and $160 storage. Both list a $125 annual fee. Its FAQ points gold IRA customers to Equity Institutional, part of Equity Trust, as custodian. And one FAQ suggests you could store IRA gold “at home”, which IRS rules do not allow for IRA bullion. Ask Noble to confirm every fee and the custodian in writing.

On the plus side, the BBB shows 3 complaints in three years, and it publishes its other fees: $30 wire, $75 in-kind distribution, $250 account closure.

Read our full Noble Gold review

6Patriot Gold Group

Patriot Gold Group, based in Seal Beach, California, has the best customer scores in our data: 0 BBB complaints in three years and 5.0 on Trustpilot from 703 reviews. It works with six custodians and stores metal at the Texas Depository.

Its headline offer is “No Fees for Life” on qualifying IRAs. Its main pages don’t say how much you must invest to qualify; one of its advertising landing pages says “Qualified Accounts of $100K+”. It does not publish an IRA minimum or a storage fee for accounts that don’t qualify. Ask for both in writing before you commit.

Read our full Patriot Gold Group review

7Priority Gold

Priority Gold says it has been in the business since 2001. It uses Equity Trust and the standard Equity Trust fee schedule: $50 setup, $125 a year, $110 commingled or $160 segregated storage. It publishes its buyback options and offers one year of free storage per $50,000 invested, up to five years. Its minimum is $10,000 for an IRA and $5,000 for a cash purchase.

We rank it lower because its own site overstates its record. On October 29, 2026, Priority’s site described it as BBB accredited with a 4.9 Trustpilot score. The BBB showed an A+ rating but not accredited, and Trustpilot showed 4.8. Its address also differs between its site (Dallas) and the BBB (Beverly Hills). The BBB logged 38 complaints in three years. A 2025 lawsuit in Los Angeles alleged it sold overpriced semi-numismatic coins to an IRA customer; court records indexed by UniCourt show it settled and was dismissed in April 2026.

Read our full Priority Gold review

8Lear Capital

Lear Capital has sold precious metals since 1997, longer than anyone else here, and has been BBB accredited since that year. Its fees are the standard Equity Trust schedule, and it waives fees on a sliding scale: one to three years free depending on purchase size.

In January 2022, Lear agreed to pay $6 million under a consent order with the New York Attorney General, resolving a lawsuit that alleged it charged undisclosed commissions of up to 33%. Through its 2022 Chapter 11 case, Lear also agreed with state regulators to pay $5.5 million to customers who bought between January 1, 2016 and March 3, 2022. We include Lear because it still operates with an A+ BBB rating, but we would ask for the markup on every product in writing.

Read our full Lear Capital review

Custody, storage and legal record

CompanyCustodian namedDepository namedRegulatory actions and lawsuits we found
GoldcoSeveral; Goldco’s site names Equity Trust as oneNot fixed; Goldco features Delaware DepositoryTCPA class action over marketing texts (Summerton v. Goldco Direct LLC): $2,000,000 settlement, final approval March 2026, judgment April 2026. No regulator action found.
Augusta Precious MetalsEquity Trust CompanyDelaware DepositoryMinnesota Department of Commerce consent order, August 2019: sold bullion to Minnesota consumers before registering as a dealer; $3,000 civil penalty plus $45 costs. No customer-harm allegation.
American Hartford GoldEquity Trust Company, The Entrust GroupDelaware Depository, International Depository Services, A-Mark Global Logistics, Brink’sMathys v. The Hartford Gold Group (N.D. Ill., 2020), fraud and misrepresentation claims; sent to arbitration in December 2020, outcome not public. McDougall (C.D. Cal., 2023), TCPA; reported dismissed in 2024. No regulator action found.
Birch Gold GroupEquity Trust Company, GoldStar Trust Company (you choose)Delaware Depository, Brink’s, International Depository Services, Texas Bullion Depository, Texas Precious Metals DepositoryLinebarger v. Birch Gold Group (C.D. Cal.), fraud and misrepresentation claims, pending. No regulator action found.
Noble Gold InvestmentsEquity Institutional (part of Equity Trust); New Direction IRA for silver IRAsInternational Depository Services (Texas, Delaware, Canada)None found
Patriot Gold GroupEntrust, New Direction IRA, GoldStar Trust, Kingdom Trust, STRATA Trust, Equity InstitutionalTexas Depository (segregated)None found
Priority GoldEquity Trust CompanyA-Mark Global Logistics/Loomis, Brink’s, Delaware Depository, International Depository ServicesChiasson v. Priority Gold LLC (L.A. Superior Court, 2025), alleged overpriced semi-numismatic coins; settled and dismissed April 2026, terms not public. No regulator action found.
Lear CapitalEquity Trust CompanyDelaware Depository Service CompanyNew York Attorney General consent order, January 2022: $6 million, resolving a lawsuit that alleged undisclosed commissions of up to 33%. Separate $5.5 million restitution to customers through Lear’s 2022 Chapter 11 case, agreed with state regulators.

“None found” means our searches of regulator and court records on October 29, 2026 turned up nothing. Those searches were targeted, not exhaustive.

How to pick a company in 15 minutes

  1. Decide your amount. Under $25,000 narrows you to Birch, American Hartford Gold, Lear, Priority and Noble. $50,000 or more opens up Augusta.
  2. Run your numbers in our fee calculator. Fees matter more on small accounts: $235 a year is 0.94% of $25,000 but 0.235% of $100,000.
  3. Ask every company the same three questions, and get the answers by email:
    • What is the markup on the exact coin or bar you are recommending, as a percentage over spot?
    • Who is the custodian, and what are its fees?
    • What will you pay me if I sell it back tomorrow?
  4. Buy bullion, not collector coins, unless you understand why a coin costs far more than its gold content.
  5. Use a direct rollover so no tax is withheld. Our rollover guide walks through it.

How we rank gold IRA companies

We use the same checks for every company. The full method is on our methodology page. In short:

  1. Published costs. Does the company publish its setup, admin and storage fees, and its markup? Companies that publish more rank higher.
  2. Minimum investment. Lower minimums suit more readers.
  3. Custody. Does it name its custodian and depository?
  4. Complaint and legal record. BBB complaints over three years, BCA rating, regulator actions and lawsuits, from primary records where we could get them.
  5. Customer terms. Cancellation windows, buyback terms, shipping times and whether reps work on commission.
  6. Commercial relationships. Goldco and Augusta pay us, and that is part of why they sit first and second. We say so rather than hide it.

We don’t give star ratings or numeric scores. We haven’t found a way to turn these facts into a single number that would be honest.

Questions readers ask

What is the best gold IRA company?

Our top pick is Goldco for accounts of $25,000 or more, because it publishes its fee schedule, charges flat fees and has been BBB accredited since 2011. Augusta Precious Metals is our pick at $50,000 and up, with one BBB complaint in three years. Both pay us for referrals, which we disclose. With less than $25,000, look at Birch Gold Group ($5,000) or the companies that start at $10,000.

How much money do I need to open a gold IRA?

It depends on the company. Of the companies we checked, Birch Gold Group has the lowest published minimum at $5,000. American Hartford Gold, Lear Capital and Priority Gold start at $10,000, Noble Gold at $20,000, Goldco at $25,000 and Augusta Precious Metals at $50,000.

How much does a gold IRA cost each year?

Most companies we checked charge about $235 to $285 a year after the first year: roughly $125 for the custodian and $110 to $160 for storage. Many also charge a one-time setup fee of about $50. The dealer’s markup on the metal is separate and can be much larger. See our gold IRA fees guide.

Can I keep my gold IRA metals at home?

No. Under IRS rules, gold, silver, platinum or palladium bullion in an IRA must be held by a bank or an IRS-approved trustee. If the IRA buys a collectible that doesn’t meet these rules, the IRS treats it as a distribution, which can mean income tax and, before age 59½, a 10% additional tax.

Is a gold IRA a good idea?

That depends on your situation, and we don’t give personal investment advice; a fee-only adviser can. What we can tell you is how it works: a gold IRA pays no interest or dividends, costs more to run than a regular IRA, and its price can fall for long periods. Gold peaked at $850 an ounce in 1980 and did not pass that level again until 2008.

Are gold IRA companies regulated?

The custodian that holds your IRA must be a bank or an IRS-approved trustee. The dealer that sells you the metal is a separate business. It is not your financial adviser, and some dealers pay their reps on commission. Check a dealer with the BBB, your state’s financial regulator and the CFTC before you buy.

How long does a gold IRA rollover take?

It depends mostly on your old plan. Once the funds arrive, Goldco’s terms say it ships metal 5 to 14 business days after receiving good funds, and up to 45 business days in some cases. Ask each company for its timeline in writing.

Can I move my 401(k) into a gold IRA without paying tax?

Yes, if you use a direct rollover. Your old plan sends the money straight to the new IRA custodian and no tax is withheld. If the plan pays you instead, it must withhold 20%, and you have 60 days to deposit the full amount to avoid tax. See our 401(k) rollover guide.

What happens to a gold IRA at age 73?

You generally have to start taking required minimum distributions from a traditional IRA, including a gold IRA, at age 73. You can sell metal to raise the cash or take the coins themselves as an in-kind distribution. Either way, the withdrawal counts as taxable income.

Will the company buy my gold back?

Most offer to, but few guarantee it. American Hartford Gold’s agreement says applicable law prevents it from guaranteeing a repurchase. Augusta says buybacks are not obligatory for either side. Ask what price you would get, usually the dealer’s bid, before you buy.

Why do you rank Goldco first?

Goldco publishes its fees in full, has a lower minimum than Augusta and a long BBB accreditation. We also earn money when readers contact Goldco through our links. Both facts are true, and we want you to know both. The comparison table lets you judge the companies on the same figures.

Sources

Every figure on this page comes from the sources listed below, checked on October 29, 2026. Each company review lists the exact page for each fact.

This page is general information, not financial, tax or legal advice. Talk to a fee-only adviser or tax professional about your situation.